Apr 08, 2020  
Graduate Catalog 2009-2010 
Graduate Catalog 2009-2010 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Winston-Salem State University


Board of Trustees

Mr. F. Scott Bauer, Chair Winston-Salem, NC
Mrs. Karen McNeil-Miller, Vice Chair Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Martin B. Davis, Secretary Charlotte, NC
Mrs. Lisa J. Caldwell Winston-Salem, NC
Dr. James C. Hash, Sr. Winston-Salem, NC
Mrs. Sue Henderson Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Victor Johnson, Jr. Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Thomas W. Lambeth Winston-Salem, NC
Mrs. Debra B. Miller Londonderry, New Hampshire
Mr. James R. Nanton Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Keith W. Vaughan Winston-Salem, NC
Vacant Vacant
Ms. Whitney N. McCoy, President, Student Government Assoc., ex officio Winston-Salem, NC


Executive Staff

Donald J. Reaves, Ph.D. Chancellor
Brenda A. Allen, Ph.D. Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Dorcas L. Colvin, Ph.D. Executive Vice Chancellor for Management and Strategic Initiatives
Mr. Gerald E. Hunter Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration
Mr. Jonathan Martin Executive Assistant to the Chancellor for External Affairs
Melody C. Pierce, Ph.D.  Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Services
Mrs. RaVonda Dalton-Rann Executive Assistant to the Chancellor & Secretary of the University
Mrs. Michelle Cook Vice Chancellor for University Advancement & Executive Director of WSSU Foundation
Ms. Camille Kluttz-Leach University Legal Counsel
Mr. William L Hayes Director of Athletics
Glen Holmes, Ph.D Associate Provost for Information Resources & CIO
Ms. Shannon B. Henry Director of Internal Audit and Compliance Services
Merdis McCarter, Ed.D Senior Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Ms. Tomikia LeGrande Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management
Carolyn Berry, Ph.D Assistant Provost for Planning, Assessment and Research
Ms. Nancy N. Young Interim Director for Public and Media Relations



Charles W. Ford, Jr., Ph.D. College of Arts and Sciences
Jessica Bailey, Ph.D. School of Business and Economics
Cynthia Jackson Hammond, Ed.D. School of Education and Human Performance
Peggy Valentine, Ed.D. School of Health Sciences
Michelle Releford, Ph.D. University College
Fidelis M. Ikem, Ph.D. School of Graduate Studies and Research


Officers of the Administration  

Erskine Bowles, M.B.A. President
Alan R. Mabe, Ph.D. Senior Vice President — Academic Affairs
Jeffrey R. Davies, M.B.A. Chief of Staff
Robert O. Nelson, M.P.A. Vice President — Finance
L.B. Corgnati, Jr., B.S., M.S. Secretary of the University
Russ Lea, Ph.D. Vice President — Research and Director of Sponsored Programs
Vacant Vice President for Academic Planning
Laurie Charest (Interim) Vice President and General Counsel — Human Resources
John Leydon Vice President — Information Resources and CIO
Anita Watkins Vice President for Governmental Relations
Kimrey Rhinehardt, B.S. Vice President for Federal Relations
Steven Leath, Ph.D.  Vice President for Research
Joni Worthington Vice President for Communications



Terms of Office of the Board of Governors

2007 - 2011   2009 - 2013
Hannah D. Gage, Chair   Hannah D. Gage, Chair
R. Steve Bowden, Vice Chairman   Dudley E. Flood, Secretary
Estelle ‘Bunny’ Sanders, Secretary   John M. Blackburn
Brent Barringer   Laura W. Buffaloe
Peter D. Hans   Bill Daughtridge, Jr.
Frank Daniels, Jr.   Walter C. Davenport
John W. Davis III   James M. Deal, Jr.
Ann B. Goodnight   Phillip R. Dixon
Charles A. Hayes   Paul Fulton
Adelaide Daniels Key   Franklin E. McCain
G. Leroy Lail   Charles H. Mercer, Jr.
Ronald C. Leatherwood   Fred G. Mills 
Cheryl Ransom Locklear   Burley B. Mitchell, Jr.
Marshall B. Pitts, Jr.   Irvin A. Roseman 
Gladys Ashe Robinson   David W. Young
Priscilla P. Taylor   Peaches Gunter Blank
Clarice Cato Goodyear    


History of The University of North Carolina

In North Carolina, all the public educational institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees are part of The University of North Carolina. Winston-Salem State University is one of the 16 constituent institutions of the multi-campus state university.

The University of North Carolina, chartered by the N.C. General Assembly in 1789, was the first public university in the United States to open its doors and the only one to graduate students in the eighteenth century. The first class was admitted in Chapel Hill in 1795. For the next 136 years, the only campus of The University of North Carolina was at Chapel Hill.

In 1877, the N.C. General Assembly began sponsoring additional institutions of higher education, diverse in origin and purpose. Five were historically black institutions, and another was founded to educate American Indians. Several were created to prepare teachers for the public schools. Others had a technological emphasis. One was a training school for performing artists.

In 1931, the N.C. General Assembly redefined The University of North Carolina to include three state supported institutions: the campus at Chapel Hill (now the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), North Carolina State College (now North Carolina State University at Raleigh), and Woman’s College (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro). The new multi-campus university operated with one board of trustees and one president. By 1969, three additional campuses had joined The University through legislative action: the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Asheville, and the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

In 1971, the General Assembly passed legislation bringing into The University of North Carolina the state’s ten remaining public senior institutions, each of which had until then been legally separate: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, the North Carolina School of the Arts, Pembroke State University, Western Carolina University, and Winston-Salem State University. This action created the current 16-campus University. (In 1985, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, a residential high school for gifted students, was declared an affiliated school of the university; and in 1996 Pembroke State University was renamed the University of North Carolina at Pembroke through legislative action.)

The UNC Board of Governors is the policy-making body legally charged with “the general determination, control, supervision, management, and governance of all affairs of the constituent institutions.” It elects the president, who administers The University. The 32 voting members of the Board of Governors are elected by the General Assembly for four-year terms. Former board chairmen and board members who are former governors of North Carolina may continue to serve for limited periods as non-voting members emeriti. The president of the UNC Association of Student Governments, or that student’s designee, is also a non-voting member.


Each of the 16 constituent institutions is headed by a chancellor, who is chosen by the Board of Governors on the president’s nomination and is responsible to the president. Each institution has a board of trustees, consisting of eight members elected by the Board of Governors, four appointed by the governor, and the president of the student body, who serves ex officio. (The N.C. School of the Arts has two additional ex officio members.) Each board of trustees holds extensive powers over academic and other operations of its institution on delegation from the Board of Governors.